All UVA and McIntire courses are being taught online throughout the spring semester. More information can be found on McIntire's official COVID-19 page. Learn More

McIntire School of Commerce Class of 2020 Celebration

Congratulations to the
Class of 2020

A Message from the Dean

The events of this last academic year were completely unexpected and unprecedented, and it was an honor to see you constructively and professionally rise to the occasion. We sincerely thank you for demonstrating remarkable flexibility, patience, creativity, and good humor. Above all, you remained positive and focused in difficult times, and that is the heart and soul of being a business and community leader. Congratulations to each of you for turning challenges into victories.

Dean Carl Zeithaml

Best wishes from the McIntire Community

Awards and Honors

Lauren Van Nostrand

Federation of Schools of Accountancy Student Achievement Award

Lauren Van Nostrand

Each year, a master’s student is chosen to receive the Student Achievement Award in recognition of superior academic achievement, leadership and professionalism in a post baccalaureate accounting program. This year’s recipient is Lauren Van Nostrand.

Zoe Pottow
Victoria Robertson

Joseph Goldsten Distinguished Award in Finance

Zoe B. Pottow and Victoria J. Robertson

Established by a McIntire alumnus, this award goes to the student or students who show the most promise in the financial industry. The recipient is chosen by the Finance faculty. This year’s recipients are Zoe B. Pottow and Victoria J. Robertson.

Mary Stanfield

National Association of Accountants: Carman G. Blough Award

Mary K. Stanfield

This award is given by the association to honor a graduating student. Selection by the accounting faculty is made on the basis of academic record in accounting, and evaluation of the individual's prospects in the field of accounting. This year’s recipient is Mary K. Stanfield.

Sydney Peoples

George Wasserman Distinguished Award in Marketing

Sydney A. Peoples

This award is chosen by the Marketing faculty and is given to an outstanding student for academic performance and promise for a career in marketing. This year’s recipient is Sydney A. Peoples.

Oretha Domfeh

F. Evans Farwell Distinguished Achievement Award

Oretha Domfeh

This award was established by a prominent alumnus, F. Evans Farwell to recognize a student who makes the greatest academic progress while at the McIntire School. This year’s recipient is Oretha Domfeh.

Jingjing Xu

Henry R. Odell Distinguished Award in Management

Jingjing Xu

This award was endowed by Mr. Odell upon his retirement from the McIntire Management faculty. It is given to a fourth year student who shows academic excellence, outstanding promise in the field of management and significant leadership contribution. This year’s recipient is Jingjing Xu.

Virginia Cruser

David W. Thompson Award in Accounting

Virginia H. Cruser

Established by the McIntire accounting faculty, this award commemorates the decades of service and leadership provided to the profession by Mr. Thompson - who's retired from the faculty. The criterion for selection is outstanding potential for contribution to the profession as judged by the accounting faculty. This year’s recipient is Virginia H. Cruser.

Megan Collins

Center for the Management of Information Technology – Emerging Leader in IT Award

Megan E. Collins

This award is for a 4th year student who has exhibited tremendous academic performance within the Commerce School while simultaneously demonstrating the core attributes of an emerging leader. These include being an excellent communicator, innovator, displaying quiet confidence, integrity, and respect for others. This year’s recipient is Megan E. Collins.

Zachary Cummings

William F. O'Dell Distinguished Award in Marketing

Zachary J. Cummings

This award honors Mr. William F. O’Dell, a former distinguished member of the McIntire School faculty, a past president of the American Marketing Association, and founder of Market Facts Inc. The award is presented annually to an outstanding marketing student. This year’s recipient is Zachary J. Cummings.

Victoria Robertson

Edgar F. Shannon Award

Victoria J. Robertson

On behalf of the Z Society, the 2020 Edgar F. Shannon Award for the McIntire School of Commerce is presented to Victoria Robertson. The Z Society Shannon Award recognizes an outstanding graduating student from each school within the University.

Claw and Dagger Honors

The Order of Claw and Dagger lauds the graduating McIntire Class of 2020. In particular, the Order would like to honor the following 12 students for exemplifying the tenets of Honor, Excellence, and Humility:
In addition, throughout the school year, the Order honored students with letters each month for these same tenets.
  • Keegan Alston
  • Sasha Clements
  • Elise Hummel
  • Anjali Khanna
  • Meredith Nolan
  • Sydney Peoples
  • Charlie Pickell
  • Rishi Pochiraju
  • Aneesh Reddy
  • Victoria Robertson
  • Tyler Smith
  • Alex Weissman
  • Victor Layne
  • Courtney Dunne
  • Marwan Elbattouty
  • Latrell Lee
  • Alexis Curts

Student Stories