Students in the Rouss Hall Reading Room

Awards and Honors

The Center for the Management of Information Technology - Emerging Leader in IT Award is awarded by the faculty to an outstanding IT graduate who shows promise in the field of information technology. 

The Madhu Chopra Writing Contest was created to honor the memory of Madhu Chopra (McIntire ‘89) and to give McIntire students the opportunity to reflect creatively on their own lives.

The Contest in Effective Oral Presentation of Business Problems is sponsored by Beta Gamma Sigma; an alumnus donates an annual prize.

The Dean’s List of Distinguished Students includes any student who has passed at least 15 credits of graded work in the preceding semester with a grade point average of 3.75 or higher. Courses taken on a CR/NC basis may not be counted toward the 15-credit minimum. Any student receiving an F, NC, or NG during the semester is not eligible to be on the Dean’s List.

Diplomas with Distinction are awarded to B.S. in Commerce students who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.80 or higher based on all graded coursework completed while enrolled in the School.

The Farwell Distinguished Achievement Award was established by F. Evans Farwell (McIntire '29) and is given to the McIntire student demonstrating the greatest academic progress while enrolled in the School.

The Joseph Goldsten Distinguished Award in Finance is given in honor of a University alum to a student who shows the most promise for a career in finance.

The McIntire Faculty Award is presented to a graduating McIntire student when, in the faculty’s judgment, the student has demonstrated truly exceptional leadership qualities and a sense of social responsibility that reflect credit upon the School, the University, and the Commonwealth.

The John H. (Jack) Lindgren Promotions Aspects of Marketing Award was established to honor longtime Marketing Professor and Area Coordinator Jack Lindgren, who retired in 2013. This award is presented to an outstanding marketing student in the Promotions Aspects of Marketing course.

The Joseph Miniotas Communication Scholars Fund was established to honor the memory of Joseph Miniotas (McIntire ‘96). A limited number of fourth-year students are selected as scholars based upon their demonstration of outstanding communication skills; these students serve to assist other McIntire students with the development of communication skills.

The NAA Carman G. Blough Award honors an undergraduate selected by the accounting faculty based on total undergraduate grade point average and an evaluation of the individual’s prospects for success in the field of accounting.

The Henry R. Odell Award is presented annually to a fourth-year student in the Management concentration who has shown academic excellence, unusual promise in the field of management, and significant leadership contributions to the School and University.

The William F. O’Dell Distinguished Award in Marketing honors Mr. William F. O’Dell, a former distinguished member of the McIntire School faculty, a past president of the American Marketing Association, and founder of Market Facts Inc. The award is presented annually to an outstanding marketing student organization member (AMA, Advertising and Marketing Association), determined by leadership and dedication to the student organization, School, and University.

The Ginny Rettig Award was established to honor Virginia “Ginny” Rettig (McIntire '00) by her family and friends. The Ginny Rettig Fund supports the “Advertising Campaigns” course at the McIntire School, and each year the award is given to an outstanding team member in the Marketing curriculum, nominated by fourth-year class members.

The David W. Thompson Award is given in honor of a retired faculty member to a graduating Accounting student judged to have the most promise for contribution to the accounting profession.

The George Wasserman Distinguished Award in Marketing and Management is given to a student who shows the most promise for a career in marketing management or sales management.